Skip navigation

Areas and Landscapes

In 2018 Macedon Ranges region was declared as the first distinctive area and landscape under the new Part 3AAB of the Planning and Environment Act 1987.

The government has since declared three new coastal areas - Bass Coast, Bellarine Peninsula, and Surf Coast.

These areas of outstanding environmental and cultural significance are being protected so that they can continue to be enjoyed by current and future generations. They have unique environments with productive and scenic landscapes, and due to their proximity to Melbourne and other regional cities, they are under pressure from urban encroachment and growing visitor numbers. These areas are also susceptible to the impacts associated with climate change, including extreme weather events.

By declaring an area as a Distinctive Area and Landscape it will:

  • Require the preparation of a Statement of Planning Policy (SPP) led by the State Government in partnership with local government and Traditional Owners.
  • Require the development of a long-term vision and strategies to protect distinctive areas in consultation with local communities
  • Introduce the opportunity for protected settlement boundaries for townships – like Melbourne’s urban growth boundary.

The Government inviting us all to help shape the visions and strategies of the places we care most about. We would like you to add the following point when making a submission. 

  • Point 1
  • Point 2
  • Point 3

To upload a submission for one of the three new coastal areas, please go Distinctive Areas and Landscapes Program on the Engage Victoria website.